15th Annual Meeting

15th Annual Meeting


15th Annual Meeting

Saturday, October 12, 2019
Lexington Convention Center
Lexington, Kentucky

Conference agenda

Honorable Maestro Speaker

Vasilis Babaliaros, MD is the co-director of the Emory Structural Heart & Valve Center at Emory Healthcare and co-director of the Adult Congenital Heart Intervention team within the Emory Adult Congenital Heart Center. He has more than 10 years experience in interventional cardiology focused on structural heart and valve disease including clinical research.

Dr. Babaliaros is a Professor of Medicine of Interventional Cardiology at Emory University. His research interests are in Valvular and Structural Heart Disease. Specifically, he was a member of the original team that pioneered percutaneous aortic valve replacement in France. His research efforts continue in the field of aortic stenosis, but have also grown to include catheter based therapies for the treatment of mitral regurgitation, aortic insufficiency, and pulmonic valve disease. He is also involved in the current circulatory assist devices that are placed percutaneously for the treatment of cardiogenic shock and high-risk intervention support. Dr. Babaliaros teaches general cardiology and heart catheterization, but devotes most of his teaching efforts training future interventional cardiologists catheter techniques for the treatment of valvular heart disease and circulatory support.

Honorable Maestro Award Recipient

Jesse Adams, MD, FACC is an adult cardiologist with Baptist Health in Louisville. He was the lead author on the original clinical validation studies for cardiac troponin I and has published numerous scientific papers as well as editing two textbooks on markers in cardiology. He has served as the president of the Kentuckiana Metro chapter of the American Heart Association. He also has served in numerous roles and committees with the American College of Cardiology, including Governor for the Kentucky chapter. He currently serves on the Executive Council for the CV Management Section of the ACC and is chair of the CV Management Section’s Publication Writing Group.

Presidential Speaker

Jonathon A. Leipsic, MD, FRCPC, FSCCT is the Chairman of the Department of Radiology for Providence Health Care and the Vice Chairman of Research for the UBC Department of Radiology. He is Professor of Radiology and Cardiology at the University of British Columbia.

Dr Leipsic is also a Canada Research Chair in Advanced Cardiopulmonary Imaging. He recently has taken on the role of Medical Imaging Regional Department Head of Vancouver Coastal Health. Dr. Leipsic has over 415 peer reviewed manuscripts in press or in print, over 300 scientific abstracts, and editor of 2 textbooks. He speaks internationally on a number of cardiopulmonary imaging topics with over 150 invited lectures in the last 4 years and is Past President of the Society of Cardiovascular CT the largest international society focused on cardiovascular CT.

ACC Speaker

Minnow Walsh, MD is a past president of the American College of Cardiology and is a strong proponent of team-based care. At St. Vincent Heart Center of Indiana she specializes in the diagnosis and treatment of advanced heart failure including the use of nuclear cardiology imaging, advanced medication therapies, ventricular assist devices (VAD) and heart transplant surgery. She has a special interest in women with heart disease and is a current board member of WomenHeart (a national coalition for women with heart disease). She is the medical director of the heart failure and cardiac transplantation program and director of nuclear cardiology at St. Vincent Heart Center and the program director of the St. Vincent Advanced Heart Failure and Transplantation Fellowship. At St. Vincent Cardiovascular Research Institute, Dr. Walsh is an advisory board member and she is actively involved in clinical research in heart failure, nuclear cardiology and system approaches for quality initiatives in the practice setting.

Accreditation Statement

The Southern Kentucky Area Health Education Center is accredited by the Kentucky Medical Association (KMA) to provide continuing medical education for physicians. The Southern Kentucky AHEC designates this live activity for a maximum of (six (6) credits) AMA PRA Category 1 Credit(s).™ Physicians should only claim credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity. All persons participating in continuing medical education programs sponsored by the Southern AHEC are expected to disclose any real or perceived Conflict of interest related to the content of their presentations. The Southern Kentucky AHEC office of Continuing Medical Education presents this activity for educational purposes only. Participants are expected to use their own expertise and judgment while engaged in the practice of medicine. The content of the presentation is provided solely by presenters who have been selected for presentations because of recognized expertise in the field.

KBN Approval: Rockcastle Regional Hospital, Inc. has been approved as a provider of continuing education by the Kentucky Board of Nursing (KBN). Provider #4-0059-12-20-027. Expiration Date December 31, 2020. Kentucky Board of Nursing approval of an individual nursing education program does not constitute endorsement of program content. This program is approved for 8.4 hours.